Memoir Project with Tara and Stacie: Slice #18 Conversations with Eileen

Morning Slicers,

I was going to write a slice inspired by Elsie’s Slices as she explores: The Best Part of Me.  I have the text that originally inspired her in my wish list at Amazon, and I’m thinking about the best part of me.  Just before I started the Slice I took a moment to work on a jigsaw puzzle on my iPad with a new app: Jigsaw Puzzle, reviving my childhood obsession without having to deal with loose pieces in boxes. But then clicking around Facebook, Tara’s freshest slice was right at the top of my feed.  I clicked over to her site and found her excited about a project that I am also jumping into.

Both of us found this new challenge on Stacie’s blog

Memoir Project

More than the facts and dates of a history, a memoir attempts to glean an understanding and share a moment of truth from a person’s life. A memoir is deeply personal and often candidly transparent, attempting to shed light on the individual humanity that makes us unique, yet universally bound by a history of storytelling.
 
We are pleased to announce The Memoir Project, our first handwritten collection of true stories from individuals around the world. 500 participants are asked to sit down and reflect on their own lives. Take pause and hand write a story that defines you. Your memoir can be the story of your whole existence or a specific point in your life. This collection will travel in our Mobile Library and eventually be installed in our permanent collection at The Brooklyn Art Library, preserving a common human history through the eyes of those that lived it.
With lots of rules:
  • Your memoir should be hand written. We know its hard, but your story is worth the extra time and effort.
  • Your memoir should be a true story or account from your life.
  • please do not use glitter or glue on objects that may come loose or damage another submission
  • Your book must not exceed the dimensions of 5″ wide x 7″ tall x 1″ thick. It can open to any size, but it must remain 5″ x 7″ x1″ when closed.
  • You’re welcome to cut, rebind or alter the book in any other way – just remember to keep it less than 1″ thick.
  • Unfortunately we can not digitize pop up books, fold out books or books that exceed the required size limits.
  • All books are catalogued in our permanent collections. Books are not for sale and will not be returned

Like Tara, my package arrived over the weekend and when I attacked it, I found a very thin book to fill.  Hey, this project cost us $60.00.  I was expecting more pages to play on.  More than the cost, I hesitated about writing by hand.   I don’t write with a pen anymore.  I even have trouble lately, writing a legible checks.

With just a few pages  to fill, I will  have to use my computer to plan and write some drafts... share a moment of truth from a person’s life.  One moment?  

Okay, it’s not due until June.  I have time to think and explore when I’m walking, driving, flying, walking around DC, adventuring in Finland… Okay… I can find a way to fill the thin book with some life changing moment.  I can do it.  Can someone else read it?

IMG_0899

Tara and Stacie, let’s keep sharing our process to Project Memoir, okay?

Categories: Conversations with Eileen, Slice of Life 2013 | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Memoir Project with Tara and Stacie: Slice #18 Conversations with Eileen

  1. A daunting, yet thrilling prospect!
    Veni! Vedi! Vici! Some folks can just sum it all up.

  2. Oh my gosh! I absolutely LOVE memoir! It’s my all-time favorite genre. I’m definitely going to check this project out. It sounds really neat. Good luck, and let us know how it’s going! ;)

  3. Absolutely! Right now I am cogitating over moments – the key for me, I think, is to identify that first. One (other)problem with being my age? So many moments! :)

  4. What a worthy project. I love the sound of this. I cannot wait to read more about it.

  5. So will we ever learn the best part of you? :-) I imagine you have so many moments to write about, selecting one will be the challenge, and you like challenges, right?

  6. This is so awesome. Thanks for sharing it. I’m wondering if I will be able to write with a pen again. I will also be a little nervous about spelling so I will do it with the computer first.

  7. It sounds like such a worthwhile project, and then to have it published forever in the library-really special Bonnie. I hope you both will share sometime about your writing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 733 other followers

