Day 2? Really? Slice of Life at the SI

DSC_0024 DSC_0030 DSC_0032 DSC_0033 DSC_0035 DSC_0037 DSC_0051 DSC_0052 DSC_0057 DSC_0062 DSC_0064 DSC_0074 DSC_0078 DSC_0083

 

 

Another smooth morning after a night of sleep.  Today Tara was joining me for my rides up and back and for a day as my guest at the SI.  Day 2 was our only shot at the perfect opportunity for her to experience the HVWP’s Summer Institute and maybe it was better that we are still fluid, not quite yet a bonded community of learning women.  Tara felt comfortable and the group was welcoming. As I took the morning prompt, sharing our lives as Slicers with Two Writing Teachers on a Slice of Life Tuesday, Tara was the first one up with a posted Slice and it was perfect and easy to click right to her Slice and have her read it to the group. I knew Tara wouldn’t flinch. Perfect start and then a solid writing for 15 minutes now that I’ve traded in my bells for my guitar timer sounds of mystic river. I can write too, without distraction.  I did.

I liked it when Christine suggested we all shared something… all the voices, sharing.  I loved that!

And then we moved through the rituals- my pictures, Odell’s log, Christine’s TIW reflections and even with computer issues, now that everyone comes with a laptop and can easily access the web, we are free!  Heather was smooth with her TIW and I thought about my own relationship to science, wondering a lot about how real scientists feel about the way science is taught in most high school classrooms.  I thought about how Janine has been incorporating writing into her science.  I remembered Alan Alda’s work on stage and in the real world.  My mind was racing and I was engaged and relaxed. Two days and I’m still relaxed.

We took a break. Gathered the group downstairs for a full photo and then back up for TIW groups.  Each new opening seems to be moving smoothly. I loved our conversations about the TIWs in my group.

It was a love day for me.  Well, I didn’t love the kale lunch, or eating outside in the heat or that stale sweet potato muffin.  But I loved the company and that’s more important.  I have my lovely lunch back in the room.

Back in the room, Mary appeared to get us engaged in our writing museum.  I remembered grabbing up books, a journal before I left for the SI on day one. I had a good bunch but for the first time I took the time to think through the time line I created and I was annoyed I didn’t have other things.  Really I had enough, but that writing experience was more for me.

I loved setting up next to Tara who probably would have liked to have brought more but it was so good that I remembered to send her the assignment so she could participate fully in the day.  I hope it’s not too late to join the NWP for her at Rutgers.  Do they still exist?

I was tired as we finished our small group debrief.  I wanted to watch Jennie’s digital story but I had a trip to make and then another beyond.  Too much ahead of me and Tara was patiently waiting.

So I am home and almost finished with this reflection of Day 2.  It’s good, really good.  So glad I came back after a two-year break.

More coming my way tomorrow.  Shorter ride home to Ellenville.

Categories: Hudson Valley Writing Project, SI 2013 | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Day 2? Really? Slice of Life at the SI

  1. That was a great moment, Bonnie, when you tied Alda’s work with the video Heather shared and the discussion that ensued. Even scientists need to communicate, to write about their work. I’ve been thinking about Heather and the difficulty those two boys had in getting their project off the ground. Some type of notebook to collect random questions, thoughts, links to other ideas and so on might help these kids realize that there are threads of thought they can return to at the end of the year, in their notebooks, which can be the launching point for their project. They need to see the connection between all the work they have been doing with Heather and that end of the year project – one flows from the other. It’s like the final memoir piece my kids write – they look through their WN entries, their SOLs, and hunt for the common thread, They were working towards that piece all along! Does that make sense? Or maybe I just need to call it a night and get to bed!

  2. Terje

    I hope that all of you can sustain the energy and enthusiasm and carry it from the summer to the fall. The institute certainly seems to have the kind of energy that creates not drains.

  3. Your energy is still high as you capture the momentum of this institute. What fun for you to have Tara alongside you today. What does TIW stand for?

  4. So good to hear about the energy in the group & that you both had a good day. Thanks for sharing about it as much as you can, Bonnie!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 734 other followers

