Menorahs for Memoir Monday!

dsc_02061

I’m inspired to share my menorahs after I saw Stacey’s latest hand-crafted menorah , so I’m spending my Memoir Monday post focused on menorahs and memories of Chanukah.

The small one in the front comes from Israel.  During my  year in Israel (1979-1980) I made it a mission to search shops from the north to the south of Israel for the perfect menorah that I could take home and uncork Israeli memories when I celebrated Chanukah back in the diaspora.  It took most of the year to find one that really called out to me. The one above, called with an ancient voice and drowned out the more modern voices.

Back home  it lived on a shelf, sharing space with other precious pieces in my collection but every Chanukkah it was dusted off and moved to a central spot in the apartment and filled with a candle each night for the 8 nights.

Did it bring back memories of my year in Israel?  Sure. I remembered the jelly doughnut vendors who appeared in early December and remained on street corners everywhere, until the end of the holiday.  It was the national holiday of the winter season, and while  Christmas of course, was  celebrated, for the first time it was a treat to see Chanukah get the center stage.  It was fun to be part of the majority of  celebrants.
*********************

The menorah in back is the one I  share with Tuvia.  Again, it was an ancient voice that called to me even in a shop in Nyack, New York.

Together, Tuvia and I  light the candles on both menorahs

We celebrate quietly,  selecting a concert to see in the city as a way of gifting each other. We share an evening with our families on one weekend nighst and  we’ve have moved from gift cards to donations for everyone now that there are no more small children in my family, but when I remember my Chanukahs as  a  kid, I am in awe of how skillful my parents were in creating a wonderful way of celebrating Chanukah while  with the rest of America celebrated Christmas in the same month.

For us, the more serious holidays came in the fall so Chanukah, unlike Christmas, was more  for fun.  A minor holiday, it commemorated a miracle of the lights that lasted, it was believed, for eight days and nights.

My parents had their work cut out for them-eight nights of  celebration!

We didn’t have fancy menorahs, we didn’t have eight nights of amazing presents, we didn’t have lots of Chanukah specials on TV to enjoy, but we did have family.

Before dinner, when the sun set,  we would set up our gold plated, menorahs with one special one that my mom brought with her from her home,in thick silver, that we could take turns lighting.

My dad started us off, lighting the Shamas, and then we were free to light a candle for each night on our own menorah.  By the eighth night we had a bonfire of lights and as we sang the prayers together and songs we had learned at Hebrew School, we were itching to move to the gift time.  Often in the early part of the week, we got socks, or fancy pencils, or candy.  We knew that the big gifts came at the end.  We salivated, but the shared ceremony each night was joyous.  That’s what I remember.

I think we all loved celebrating Chanukah.  It forced to us to slow down as a family, as we ate lots of potato pancakes(my dad made the best) and then moved to the living room for the gifts and a fire in the fireplace. each of the eight nights. No phone calls, no homework, no kid fighting.

And to make us feel more connected to the rest of the world,  every Christmas day we would visit  my dad’s childhood friend, Eddie, who satified our Christmas fantasy world with his great tree and gifts underneath, some with our names on them.

Chanukah this year, will be celebrated here,for the first time.  My parents, brothers, sisters-in-law and most of the nieces and maybe the nephew will be at my place for the first night.

How can I make this as special as my parents made it for us?  That’s my challenge!

Categories: childhood, Memoir Mondays | Tags: , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Menorahs for Memoir Monday!

  1. Lisa

    I have never seen suck fancy Menorahs! I love the one with the jugs. I think that is the one I would choose. I never knew anything about Chanukah until I was an adult and I love learning about how all these December holidays are really, truly about celebrating family… not just about the food!

  2. Yes LIsa, I think it’s good to get beyond the food,especially when I’m wondering now, what I should serve.
    Bonnie

  3. Beautiful memories….Thank you so much for sharing your traditions.

  4. This is a great memoir, Bonnie. I love both of your menorahs, and can easily see how both would call to you. We observed Chanukah in my house for several years when I was a kid. I think it started because the family we were closest with was Jewish and we celebrated with them and then carried the ceremony into our house as a way to honor them, especially after we moved upstate and didn’t get to see them more than once or twice a year. But I also think that at one point my mother was considering converting to Judaism. We had a very traditional, but pretty brass menorah. Thinking about it now, I wonder where my mother found the right candles once we were living in ultra-Catholic Rotterdam?

  5. I’m not surprised to hear this about you Stacie. You seem to be opened to the world.
    Bonnie

  6. Now THAT is a gorgeous menorah. Wish mine looked that good.

    I glazed mine in Ceramics Class right night. Hopefully it’ll look nice when all’s said and done.

  7. Yes, I love them but I just picked them out already created and paid my money and took them home. I didn’t create them, you did!
    Bonnie

  8. Karen McComas

    Enjoyed your memories – just reading them made me slow down, think, remember – thank you!

  9. Thanks Karen, a great compliment!
    Bonnie

  10. lynnjake

    This is a beautiful, loving story, Bonnie. And I love the Menorahs. I’d love to see them with candles burning in them.
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

