Photo Study and Commitment January 2, 2009

dscf0013

January 2, 2009

Maryclare’s wedding. Just another wedding at Florentine Gardens in River Vale, New Jersey, but for us, family and friends, it’s frozen in memories of  joy and hope for a new year and new family and revisiting my teaching past.

I just read a post on Bud Hunt’s blog about a daily commitment to the image and sharing them on web.  I remember joining this group and began sharing photos, but I was disappointed that there wasn’t more comment sharing.  Photo Fridays came out of D’Arcy’s suggestion. He is beginning 365/2009 and I’m going to plunge in there as well.

Here’s a great quote from Norman:

“What’s today’s picture?”

Mindful seeing is the process of turning off the filters, of seeing your surroundings unfettered and unobstructed.

When viewing the world without filtering, even the most boring and banal subjects can become wondrous and interesting. We are constantly surrounded by interesting things that we normally don’t see – textures, lighting, patterns, shapes, objects, groupings, even messages.

Photographers are often described as distancing themselves from their surroundings by “hiding behind a camera” or “viewing the world only through a viewfinder.” I see photography from the exact opposite side of the coin. By mindfully seeing the world around me, I feel as though I am seeing much more than I would otherwise. I see patterns, convergence, divergence, shadows, lighting, juxtaposition, and composition that are likely missed by others. That’s not to say that I am “better” than any other – just that by being mindful of what I am seeing, I am aware of what is around me. And when I am aware, I am better able to take an interesting photograph.

A photo a day?  I wonder, can I shot a photo a day? Here’s my first one.

Categories: A Photo A Day | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Photo Study and Commitment January 2, 2009

  1. lynnjake

    This is a beautiful table setting. I’m sure, however, that the real beauty in this picture is in the loving relationships that were the reason for you all being there. Having said that, a photo a day? Can anyone join that or do you need an invitation? Sounds very intriguing!
    Lynn

  2. I think you are already a member, Lynn:
    http://flickr.com/groups/366photos/
    Bonnie

  3. Kia ora Bonnie

    I think Bud Hunt’s view is well in focus and in the frame.

    I have always believed that constraint, whatever it is caused by and whatever its manifestation may be, brings about creativity.

    I attended a high school in the sixties. I was part of a knot of students who were interested in B & W photography. We all developed our own films and prints and print enlargements.

    There were several key attributes in photography that I recall were fashionable. Most were to do with composition and best use of the valuable resource in film.

    In a way, it was to do with conservation. But it was also to do with working within the constraints of the technology. Here are the key things I learnt about in those formative years as an amateur photographer:

    framing in the camera (this made you think before you clicked)

    lighting (both from the point of view of ‘correct’ exposure and image effect)

    compositional balance (things like the ‘golden mean’, diagonal composition, subject composition etc)

    depth of field in relation to appropriate focus (this meant it was OK to have things out of focus to cast attention on subject matter that was in sharp focus, especially if detail was important).

    Digital cameras can be used the same way and similar principles apply. But with photoshop and other tools that can now be used to tweak the digital image (in ways that early photography technologies could not) we have access to another dimension hitherto unvisited.

    Spot ya
    from Middle-earth

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

