Hosting Family: January 4, 2009

dsc_0045

I was ready. Ten members of my family were scheduled to arrive yesterday by noon.  Oh how ready I was.  Snowed out from the first night of Chanukah, we were rescheduled for Sunday, January 4, 2009.  Yes, Chanukah was over, but family continues on.  Ten guests, 12, 15, back to 10, then 9 then at final count, 11.

Flexible? YES!

Not a problem with food, not even a problem with space at the table.

This was probably the first time I had hosted a holiday party at my place for the whole group.  Usually we headed for Ellenville.  Easier for my parents, or Tuvia hosted something at his house.  But this time I insisted and took charge and you know, it was EXHAUSTING!  I enjoyed it, but would be happy to return the guest role. What do you want me to bring?  That’s a lot easier

It’s good to have family and it’s great when everyone feels glad to be together.  Sure we have our family issues, but all in all, it’s a good one and the food was eaten with joy. The kitchen was trashed, of course, but once the last couple left, I took over the kitchen and Tuvia was in charge of the dining room and soon the table-leaf was back in the closet, the dish washer was humming and the counters were clear and clean once again.

Everyone was gone,  the fire still roared in the fireplace and  it was all for us to enjoy once again.

Bonnie

Categories: A Photo A Day, Memoir Mondays | Tags: , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Hosting Family: January 4, 2009

  1. lynnjake

    What a nice story. It really is like that – you get excited that everyone is coming, and you prepare and prepare, and then it’s like a cyclone hits for a while, and it’s over. Just like that – only the mess remains. And the cleaning up of the mess is kind of therapeutic I think. Thanks for sharing your family celebration!
    Lynn

  2. Lisa

    Hosting is exhausting! But I love it.

  3. I agree and at the same time Lisa, I’m returning to a supporter role.
    Bonnie

  4. I enjoyed reading about your holiday party. It reminds me of the time I was the replacement site for a family Thanksgiving dinner. I will have to jog my memory a little more and do some writing!

    P.S. I love your dishes.

  5. How cool is that?!

    What an interesting story Bonnie.

    We had seven for Christmas dinner – that was a housful for us. Gosh, you did well to cater for about a dozen – my goodness, yes.

    You have a lovely aspect to your diningroom.

    Catchya later
    from Middle-earth

  6. We rescheduled too!!! I love that you did too! Family is what matters here for both of us. Fabulous!

    Now if only G-d had talked to Mother Nature… Maybe this never would have happened.

  7. Thanks everyone,
    So much fun to share a family event with other hosts.
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

