Another Ice Storm Find: January 8, 2009

dsc_0037

I tried to get this photo just right today as I remained inside for the entire day watching the ice freeze and melt and freeze again.  I had plans to take my pocket camera with me to capture a moment in the world, but instead I walked around once again, searching for a photo op and here it is.

I wonder if captured this woman effectively.  I only included her face here, there’s more to her but the light was not cooperating with me.  So this is the best I can do for now, until I figure out more.

I found her in a Piermont gallery, on a morning in August, the day I was turning 45, I think.  I was not new to this gallery but I had never found anything I was compelled to own, that’s until I found her.

It was a quiet morning.  I had the room, filled with wonderful pieces all to myself.  The owner was on the phone. She waved, I waved back and felt free to move around at my own pace.

As I turned back to the window there she was, piercing through me.  I was whammed!  It wasn’t the first time.  I owned other pieces that I was compelled to have for myself and now, on my day, she should come home with me.

I don’t remember how much she cost, but I was able to negotiate a bit with the painter-owner of the gallery and begin to pay for her in monthly installments.  I had done that in the past and had the painting at home during the process.  I was able to take her with me.

She has always been given a key wall in my home.  She still knocks my socks off.

I hope I’m like her.

Bonnie

Categories: A Photo A Day | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Another Ice Storm Find: January 8, 2009

  1. Kia ora Bonnie

    I can see why you were so enthralled with the painting these year ago. And I can see what you are trying to capture through the use of lighting.

    How did you provide the lighting with this shot? Control over the quality of light is a huge area for the photogtapher to work in. It can range to things like using tinted light to give effect.

    Some purists say that using tinted light is un-natural or even will say it’s cheating. In reality, the quality of even natural light that illuminates beauty is tempered by the surroundings and is rarely pure white. Using white light can bring about effects that are, in fact, less than ‘natural’.

    Catchya later
    from Middle-earth

  2. I actually couldn’t fit her all in and that close up and I was having trouble with a flash and without. That bright light shouldn’t be there.
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

