Preparing for Barack’s Big Day: January 15, 2009

dsc_00272

I did a  bit of shopping yesterday at the Sports Authority, so I might be able to to keep warm next Tuesday when we become part of the crowd of 2 million celebrants in DC. I ask you, am I CRAZY?

Here’s my pile of clothes and essential objects, with a new arrival from my buddy Lynn, who sent a Barack bag for just this occasion, to carry home the Inaugural goodies.

I wonder, am I missing anything?

I have a skier’s ensemble of Armorwear pants, shirts. I have hand and toe warmers, socks,  fur-lined shoe boots, long jacket, lined as well, ear muffs, gloves, a bottle of water, granola bars, I phone, and pocket point and shot camera, of course.

The bottom line is keeping warm for hours moving slowly to find a spot for the Inaugural parade. No tickets for the ceremony.  Hope we can find a spot near a screen to catch some of it. We will be close, but oh so far away.

There’s still a chance that I might get a call from Team Obama, inviting me to join in as a VIP. Was that a dream I had last night?

Bonnie

Categories: A Photo A Day, Barack Obama | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Preparing for Barack’s Big Day: January 15, 2009

  1. I’m excited for you, so glad you get to be a part of it all. Have a great time!

  2. Lisa

    I think you will be warm, but you have to take a notebook so you can write all your best moments as they happen! Or can you do that with the iPhone? It would be fun to live blog, but then you couldn’t enjoy the experience. I hope you have a great time! Are you taking the train or driving down?

  3. Hi Lisa,
    No place for a notebook or computer, but I have two pockets: one for my new small camera and the other for a Flip for small movies. They are discouraging cell phones so I have to wait until we get back to the hotel for any posting, but I promise you that I will post what I see and hear and feel.
    We are driving on Monday morning to Baltimore and then using public transportation into DC unless it’s snowing or raining.
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

