Winter Flames: January 16, 2009

dsc_0019

Duraflame logs. One at a time, one after another.

I have background TV, background music, background fire to keep the winter days feel toasty. I am usually up in early morning darkness.  It’s cold in my living room as I move in with my laptop and a first mug of coffee and I need the fire to usher me into the day without the support of the sun.

It always works.  The crackle of the sole log satisfies me as I begin to write with the Today Show humming softly.

One log takes me up to the late morning.  Later, as the day begins to end too soon, around 4 or so, another log is ready to be lit.  Dinner with firelight, makes the evening as inviting as the cold of the morning. Just two logs and I am cheered.

Categories: A Photo A Day | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Winter Flames: January 16, 2009

  1. I wish I had a fireplace right now. Amazing photo. You should send it to DuraFlame!

  2. Kia ora Bonnie!

    When I was little 🙂 we had a coal fire. There was something alive about the fireplace when it was lit. Coal burns much longer than logs, but it doesn’t crackle and hiss in the friendly way that logs do. We used to cook chestnuts on a skewer – yummm. But sometimes I got my tongue burnt.

    Catchya
    from Middle-earth (in summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

