Waltz with Bashir at the Burns: Slice of Life Tuesday /#41

dscf1126

On a sunny Sunday afternoon I was sitting here, in Theater One,waiting to see  Ari Folman’s animated documentary of the horrors of the 1982 Israeli war with Lebanon, Waltz with Bashir.

Make no mistake, this is not an easy film to watch, even without human actors.  And how timely, as elections are about to be held in Israel today with many Israelis are wondering if there will ever be an end to war. According to recent polls, 36% of young people will not be voting, turning away from the very institutions that took so much courage to create.

Ironically,  Tuvia and I settled for a lot less on Friday night.  He’s Just not that Into You won the weekend box office coming primarily from the very sex presented in the most superficial light.  At the 4:00 performance we were surrounded by groups of women of all ages.  Some even applauded at the end of the film at the contrived “happy Hollywood ending”.  Tuvia and I left annoyed with ourselves, really it was my fault.  I was hoping for a bit more.  I wonder how many other women left angry?

Once I was out there in the meat market of life and felt the same frustration that some of the characters felt, but I hope I had more dignity than the women on the screen.  Ugh, I’m getting angry.

And then there was Waltz with Bashir and we were both back feeling that great movies are still out there to choose from and  grateful for  the places where they will be shown.

I don’t think you would ever see He’s Just not that Into You at the Jacob Burns Film Center.

I am a proud supporter and when I leave a mall theater, feeling taken, I’m ready to send  even a larger donation to Burns to safeguard my movie haven.

See more Slices at Two Writing Teachers

Categories: A Photo A Day, Slice of Life Tuesdays | Tags: | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Waltz with Bashir at the Burns: Slice of Life Tuesday /#41

  1. I can’t wait to see He’s Just Not That Into You. Sometimes, I just want a fun and frivolous movie, and I don’t look for these movies to make a statement. Waltz with Bashir, though, sounds excellent and I am going to see if I can find it on Netflix.

  2. debbie Remley

    so I should save my $ and wait to borrow ‘he’s just not that into you ‘ from the library for free???

  3. I don’t know that it would have made any difference if I were watching this one on TV. Still inauthentic and a poor view of single women.
    Waltz with Bashir could win an Oscar.
    Bonnie
    Good to see you here Deb and Nancy

  4. I heard an interview with Ari Folman on NPR. I applaud him for having the courage to portray an honest perspective on the horrors of war.

  5. He is not alone in presenting the wars of the Middle East as devistating to the people involved. But his use of animation is amazing. Bravo
    Bonnie

  6. We are having an Israeli Film Festival here in Providence, but I haven’t gotten the chance to get myself to any of the flicks yet. Your post reminds me that I should before it’s over. Thanks Bonnie!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

