Seminar at HVWP: 66/365 and a Sunday Slice

dsc_0121

Welcome to a Sunday Slice of Life and my 66th(?) day of  A -Photo- A- Day Challenge.

Seems like life is heating up for me even before we have officially moved out of winter.  Yesterday I presented my digital storytelling workshop at a Hudson Valley Writing Project  Saturday Seminar for area teachers, pre-service teachers and HVWP teacher consultants.

I’ve been very fortunate to have been invitied often  to present my work of passion, to teacher groups, so for this workshop it was a challenging adventure to share the stage with two of our TC’s, Laurie and Trace, who are also passionately  engaged in the adventure of digital media.

We planned this workshop almost exclusively through email and I would bet that no one participating realized that we had not met face-to-face.  Their work with digital storytelling was fantastic and focused on the social reformer work of Jacob Riis who used photography to move people to action.  With his photos as inspiration, Trace and Laurie worked with middle school students to create their own crusading digital pieces.  It was powerful and blended with my work and the work of a Science teacher, we had lots of genre options.

How cool it was to revise collaboratively. What a great model for professional development, offered by the Natioanl Writing Project.

Tomorrow I’m off to Dover Middle School to begin work with a DS team of teachers who will  create 100 6th grade digital stories by May 19.  Now that’s a true challenge!

I’m almost ready to get back on the road, but  first I need a mellow Sunday with Tuvia.

Remember to turn your clocks ahead. It’s almost SPRING!

Bonnie

Categories: A Photo A Day, Slice of Life Challenge 09 | Tags: , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Seminar at HVWP: 66/365 and a Sunday Slice

  1. literacyspark

    Hi Bonnie,
    Gosh I wish I could have been there. I would have loved to see that!

  2. Another great photo and post, Bonnie. Even after 13 years of involvement with the Writing Project, I am still perplexed that so many activities attract tons of women and a few men. I was playing “Where’s Waldo” with your photo, trying to find the males in the group! I love digital storytelling, but I’m not sure it’s tied into my gender…Hmmmmm.
    I’m looking forward to meeting you when we team up with your writing site this spring. ~T-Dawg

  3. Tracey, hang on are you at Western Mass? How cool! The issue of men in the NWP, actually I see lots of them at the conferences, probably because it reflects more men in college positions but for public school, yes, a sea a women with a few men, especially in English. Elementary school probably even less. But then there’s more of you in Science and Math and Social Studies, the he-men subjects.
    Bonnie
    All good.
    Thanks for the great comment

  4. Hey Bonnie, I am at Western Mass but I’m not Tracey; I am Tina (good pal of Kevin)!

  5. Sorry Tina,
    See you soon,
    Bonnie

  6. Good to hear stories of planning via email going well – it can be such a great tool if used wisely. I love the idea of digital storytelling. Something to explore soon since I got a little flip camera

  7. You are on your way Juliann. Keep me posted on your DS work
    Bonnie

  8. This sounds great; I would love to do digital storytelling with my students.

  9. Lisa

    I am really interested in this project. Do you have examples to share at all? I have started blogging with my class, and I want to become better at exploring the addition of technology to my class.

    Also, is this work you do as a consultant? It isn’t volunteer, right?

  10. Digital storytelling has been something I have been exploring with my community college students and I would have loved attending your workshop to get some inspiration!

  11. You’ve inspired me to learn more about digital storytelling. Sounds like new, meaningful ways to hook and engage students.

  12. Digital storytelling is something I’ve never heard of, I will be checking on it.

  13. Love this genre. I have my work on my mac homepage:
    Lisa,

    http://homepage.mac.com/blkdrama/

    There’s a lot of pieces for different audiences:

    Look at: Walking at the edge of the/ Remembering a Gentle Voice/
    Moving on…
    And let me know what you think
    Bonnie

  14. Amazing that you never met face-to-face but still were able to put together a stellar workshop. Maybe never meeting F2F is an advantage… I know that F2F meetings can often throw a group off-track, with distractions.

    Good luck with the middle school students!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

