Just a Waffle at the Pirate’s Den: Slice 24/31 and Photo 80/365

Slice #24  and Photo 80, Can that be?

Waffles at the Pirate's Den

Seemed ridiculous when I snapped this picture in the middle of our lovely Sunday brunch at the Pirate’s Den, but now, I’m so glad I did.

Tuvia is used to my snapping at any moment and graciously  waits for me to turn my attention back to him. You know, he waits a lot.

This was not the best waffle I’ve ever eaten but it was filled with memories.  I have been to Brigantine before with my brothers, their wives, my parents,nieces and nephews and family friends.

And often, like most Brigantine visitors, we always found our way to the Den for a breakfast and often, on a busy Sunday,we waited  patiently for a table.  It was  worth it for the great service and the homey atmosphere . Not fancy, just homey, bustling with organized movement.

Waffles, strawberries, eggs, toast, pancakes, muffins, coffee, coffee and more coffee-regular, milk,no sugar. Standard for great Sunday eating!

Back again yesterday  with Tuvia, who can be very fussy, was also taken by the Pirates  charm  which shines through, and even though he didn’t find the best French toast he’d ever eaten he was content to just enjoy people- watching with me and share a story or two about our separate adventures at Jersey Shore towns, usually off season.

Together, even in the cold, the town offered us a few days of the ocean on our left side and the bay just two blocks across on the right side.

It was cold. Too cold for extended walking but we chiseled out a perfect get away.

Bonnie

Categories: A Photo A Day, Life of Life Challenge 2009 | Tags: , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Just a Waffle at the Pirate’s Den: Slice 24/31 and Photo 80/365

  1. Elizabeth

    My husband was looking through our most recent Europe trip and said “We have a lot of food pictures.” Yep, and I’m glad to see someone else does too. Tonight, when I made his birthday dinner, it was based on a meal we’d had in Italy at Lago Maggiore. I plan to get out the photo and see how close I came!

    Great post–
    Elizabeth
    http://peninkpaper.blogspot.com/

  2. literacyspark

    yum..looks good to me Bonnie! I love going out for breakfast, there’s something so cozy about it. My husband rarely wants to. : ( But when he does I jump at the chance!

  3. snowflakes6

    yuum…..looks so good!!! I’m waiting to jump through the screen to eat them.

  4. Lisa

    I love eating out for breakfast too. I make waffles, French toast, etc. but they taste so much better in a restaurant.

  5. Wow, Bonnie! What a photo. I want to put my face in it — and I’m not even a big waffle-lover! You are quite the photographer…

  6. Bonnie, I love the way you find beauty in small things. I think it is a wonderful gift!

  7. Bonnie, I love how you don’t hesitate to take pictures. I need to be more like that! I love breakfast out, especially waffles, French toast or pancakes. Yum!

  8. Thanks for your very positive comments about my waffle and my photo
    Bonnie

  9. I know you said they weren’t the best you ever had, but the picture made my mouth water!

  10. Thanks Lynnelle,
    It does look good. The power of the camera. B+ in taste.
    Bonnie

  11. I always forget to take pictures of the food I eat on vacation. Your photo has inspired me to start making it a habit.

  12. Bonnie,
    You have captured the essence of photographs and memories. You also evoked memories for me of growing up with my Dad who loved to grow strawberries, loganberries, goooseberries, rapsberries etc. It was fair to say he was ‘berry’ good at growing berries .You further reminded me of my first job as a teen -picking strawberries at a nearby berry farm. Your decision to snap your breakfast has helped me make strong connections. Thank you for this great small,yet significant moment in time. I shall be on the lookout today for a similar opportunity. Your use of camera and words is to be applauded.
    Alan

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

