DS Wedding FInished: Tuesday Slice and 93/365

End of DS Wedding

Slice of Life Tuesday, April 6, 2009.  See more Slices at Two Writing Teachers

I took this photo last September as I left the Karen’s wedding.  I was hungry, tired and my arms ached in new places from holding my cameras up for hours, filling up tapes and memory cards.  I wondered what the hell I was doing.  After all, the only person I knew at the event was the bride.

I was always curious about wedding photogs, watching them  at weddings and bar mitzvahs I attended as a guest. And when I got an invitation from Karen to create a digital story for her special day,  I thought it would be a great challenge.

But as I snapped this last photo, I was reconsidering.

I stalled its creation.  It took awhile to get the honeymoon photos in November, and then I took more time to really learn the program I would use to create it. I worked closely with Tom at the Apple store to explore  Final Cut Studio.

It took me a long time  to find my way  into the piece and treat it, not as a as a digital story to tell . Finally, in the final stages of creation I found my voice as I selected the final piece of music,, worked with compressor and DVD Studio and  sent out the package from the Paramus post office, to its very patient bride.  Yes I  did find a way to enjoy its creation.  All I needed was to hear from Karen that she loved it, and she took a taste from the opening and now she will patiently wait for watch it with her groom.

And  I am free to move on to the Maryland University Writing Project’s DS! I’m back, immersed in  stories  I love creating.

In the spirit of Passover’s coming Sedars, What made this DS different from all others? And that’s the question that’s lingering with me.

I am listening to a voiceover that I just worked on with Patti and Joseph, listening to them share the history of their young site and I’m thinking that there DS is more than a one-day event.

How did they get here?  Hmm, I love this process, working collaboratively and in technology, it’s messy.  Fun, messy… I have to send them an email to scour the site for photos of their work during the first two years of its life.

This piece is growing.

More to follow…

Categories: A Photo A Day, Slice of Life Tuesdays | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “DS Wedding FInished: Tuesday Slice and 93/365

  1. Lisa

    I bet it turned out really well. Much better than a regular video. My friend made a digital story for a bride and groom to play at the wedding. It was a montage of pictures of them dating over the years and it was set to their favourite song. It was fabulous!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

