Shabbat in Tel Aviv: 117/365

Shabbat

I’m wondering if this moment looks any different from the other moments I’ve frozen from my balcony, or it’s just me in my moment?  Maybe you just have to be here to experience the difference but you can feel it, smell it, taste it.  The pace is slower.

When I was younger,  attending my synagogue’s Hebrew School, on Saturdays, Shabbat, a group of us would attend the morning services and then, after lunch visit our teacher at his home for an afternoon chat and some tea and cake, baked fresh by his wife.  Rabbi Fred Cohen was a great teacher but during the week, he was very uptight and nervous.  We all still liked him but wished he could relax.

On Saturday’s he did.  He became a different person- the best role model for observing the Shabbat.

I still remember his amazing transformation.  He slowed down everthing. I remember Fred Cohen today, as I walk on along the beach a bit slower to savor the smells, the sounds, the tastes, the sites.  I want to  freeze this moment in my mind.

Categories: A Photo A Day, Israel April 09 | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Shabbat in Tel Aviv: 117/365

  1. Bonnie, This is my second visit to Tel Aviv – both trips hosted via your beautiful photo journals.

    This is also my second Shabbat. I experienced my first last summer in New Year City thanks to Sondra Perl’s summer seminar. Shabbat in NYC almost sounds like an oxymoron, but, instead, it was life changing.

  2. I would love to hear more Gail. Thanks for traveling with me
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

