Keeping a Low Profile: 131/365 & MM

Dover DS DONE!

I have been in my PJ’s all day and it’s Monday.  I planned for this time to work uninterrupted.  I began the piece on Friday night and didn’t obsess about it. I didn’t ignore Tuvia or the rest of my life the way I used to, but after lots of digital stories, I am able to work a bit faster and have fun with the messiness of the process. So we saw friends for dinner, went to the movies and watched some TV.

Of course I did spend some of the late hours, when Tuvia was asleep working on my DS piece, but usually no later than one or so.

What I love about this creative process hmmm….

I begin writing, a few sentences.  I go away from it, come back, add a few more, go away, look at photos, download video, play voice overs, come back to the writing, revise, leave it unfinished and then when I have enough I begin to work the photos/video with a voice over, small sections at a time. Nothing is in finished form and I used the new version of Imovie for the first time and that slowed things down a bit.  I couldn’t do everything, and I made an appointment at my Apple store but that was yesterday for today and today, I didn’t need to know much more than I could figure out myself.

I love keeping the process of creating these movies, fluid.  I don’t always have an ending when I begin.  I like the fact that I can keep revising as the photos and video work with the words.  I can add words, take them away, add photos, music and delete to my heart’s content and slowly, watching from the beginning over and over I move closer to the end.  I don’t take too many breaks on my full day of work.  Today I worked from early in the morning through until early afternoon. It’s 4:00 PM now and I’m burning a DVD for tomorrow.

I always wonder if I’ve done the story justice. Often my pieces are non-fiction, like this own, telling the story of this inservice project from last October until tomorrow.  First with teachers and then with the teacher team and their students.

I hope I have done justice to the kids and their teachers.  I know I don’t have photos of every kid and that might cause problems but what can I do? I don’t have 76 kids, but they will be taken care of by others.  I hope that’s okay.

I have been in love with the process for almost 10 years and I love it more and more.  I love the sound of my own voice.  How about that?  I didn’t when I began.  I love the writing and the photo search to showcase the words and the spontaneous connections between the music, the images and the words.  I would like to use more video but  I tend to grab for my phot camera first and foremost.

The first piece on a PC.  I remember.  I had a great mentor who helped a lot because I wasn’t ready to drive my own computer yet.  The software was too intimidating and wow, today  I play with new programs.  How I have grown into this process.

I can’t wait to unveil this DS piece tomorrow and stand in the back of the library and pace.

See more Memoir Mondays at Two Writing Teachers

Categories: A Photo A Day, Dover DS 09, Memoir Mondays | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Keeping a Low Profile: 131/365 & MM

  1. sounds like it was a rewarding project for you! i hope you’ll be able to share the piece with us after you unveil it.

  2. You have really caught my attention with the process of digital storytelling. I will continue reading and following your stories to see if I can’t catch the passion too.

  3. I can’t wait to see how this ends tomorrow. My cameras are ready to go. Juliann, this is some amazing experience.
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

