9/11: 191/365

wtc3_11_400

This is not my photo but I needed something specific for this day, for the 8th memory of 9/11/01.

I was just finishing up my first class in the morning. It was sunny and crisp outside and inside, the school was still fresh and clean.  School just in the first days of a new year and I was humming and skipping down the staircase to the main office.

I entered, waved to Karen at her desk, stopped at my mailbox and noticed that Gene was rolling in a large TV, setting it up, turning it on and a crowd was gathering, casually, to watch a news broadcast.  A small plane was crashing into one of the Twin Towers and some of us were chuckling, at first.

Soon we weren’t chuckling and soon there were was growing hysteria.

In that first period class that I had waved goodbye to as I took my break sat, quiet Ray.  His father was working that morning on the 11th floor of that first tower and never came home again.

Ray, I think about you every 9/11 and your sister and mother and hope that you have been able to have life after that particular 9/11.

Categories: A Photo A Day | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

