Woodstock at Bethel Woods: 211/365

Woodstock?

Woodstock today is an arts center on the same land where the concert was held. You remember, 3 days of drugs and love.

Today it’s hard to be there and imagine what it was like.  Now, in Bethel,  New York, you can see a wonderful concert, you can visit a modern, interactive museum that will take you back to the 60’s and on weekends you can taste great havest foods, listen to a bit of music and check out some crafts.

It was great but I was hoping to feel Woodstock.  No way!  That’s not there.  All tame and manicured now.  But back in ’69, I could have been there.  I was living at home, just 15 miles away from the spot.  I know all the backroads so I would have not been caught in the traffic.  But when it was advertised, I hesitated.  Then, I hadn’t heard of all the groups and I didn’t know if I wanted to pay $25.00 a day.  Of course, many people were there without paying. But I was working then and probably couldn’t get off for more than one day.

Honestly,  I don’t think that was the place for me.  It could have been wonderful, but I don’t do well in the mud, wondering where the bathrooms are etc.  I’m not good camping outside.

So, it’s really okay that it wasn’t more authentic.
Bravo for the vision of Bethel Arts Center. Impressive for an area that needs the boost of arts, not gambling.

Okay… it was a great day!

Categories: A Photo A Day | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Woodstock at Bethel Woods: 211/365

  1. lynnjake

    Looks like a beautiful day. Funny the things we forego that later turn out to be something big. Time and place – we’re not supposed to be everywhere possible, I guess. Nice photo.
    Lynn

  2. It was a beautiful day, but a hard one for me. Returning to the past from the present was harder than I thought it would be.
    I just began a group on the iAnthology for the coming NaNoWriMo. I will put it on the home page when we get closer. I don’t want to upstage National Writing Day…what day is that again?
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

