New Year’s Lunch: 2/365 NaBloMoPo 2

Edie and Herb will never see this photo on this blog. Of course they have a computer and even an email address and there are family experts close by  to guide them. But they will never get involved. My mom, stays away- too much arthritis in her fingers. My dad plays games and used to create bills for his customers.  But these days, it’s more time with games.

So while they are patient with me as I click my camera at them, almost every time we get together, they are totally disconnected from the world of the web. But that’s okay.

It’s a joy to meet them for these face-to-face events.

Categories: A Photo A Day 365/2010, NaBloPoMo January '10 | Tags: , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “New Year’s Lunch: 2/365 NaBloMoPo 2

  1. Do your parents live in Ellenville? Your dad looks awfully familiar. Please ask him if he knows Ann and Mike Brodsky. (They belonged to the temple in Kerhonkson.)

    Sweet picture, by the way!

  2. I will. Are you related to the Ellenville Brodsky’s. I used to shop at a dress store in town, Brodsky’s and had a girl in my class from that family.
    Thanks,
    I’m getting my parents comfortable with my style of photography. What do you think about this blog format update?
    Bonnie

  3. I don’t know but anything is possible! My grandparents only summered there, but my grandma’s cousin Sadie Friedman (who now lives in Hurley) with her husband Nate, owned the Brookside in Kerhonkson, so there was a lot of crossing of paths in my family among locals.

  4. PS I don’t really notice anything different about the blog. What changed?

  5. The look is different and there are widgets to add now at the bottom.

  6. Photographs like this are precious. Thanks for sharing.

    (Myfanwy NaBloPoMo Comment for comment)

  7. You bet. What’s your blog?
    Bonnie

  8. Awww! They’re absolutely adorable. I love how they cuddled in close for a picture. I absolutely love when couples do that!

  9. Wow all your beautiful pictures and I haven’t even learned how to put them on my blog yet. You inspire me. I love the interconnectedness of this.

  10. Thanks Purplume,
    I spend lots of time learning the ins and outs of media on the web. It just demands the time and passion.
    Bonnie

  11. I found your blog on NaBloPoMo. This is the 3rd month in a row I’m participating with my photographer blog. Hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

  12. Thanks for sharing, Bonnie. I look forward to seeing your world through pictures. I’ve never been to New York but would like to go some day and see a show or two. It’ll be nice to get a preview of various places in New York through your blog. All the best in 2010!

  13. Great Shelley
    I feel the same,
    Bonnie

  14. Awww what lovely moments you have captured with your photos. Cherish those photos as they will forevermore tell a story.

  15. knittnkitten

    Found you through NaBloPoMo, hopefully we will all have some fun!

  16. elisa

    Hi! I’m the girl from Brodsky’s! If you are who I think you are, you were my english teacher, right? I was helping my daughter with her homework and she wanted to see if there was anything about the store online, so I did a search and found this post.

  17. elisa

    I’m a serious amateur photog myself.. You have some really nice shots 🙂

  18. Hi Elisa,
    I remember you and your family very well. How are they? And how cool that you have a new member of the Brodsky generation to share the past with. How are you?
    Bonnie

  19. elisa

    Hi Bonnie,
    I think I saw you in the Today Show crowd one morning too!!! Was that you? Unfortunately, both my parents passed away, my dad in 2000 and my mom in 2005. My brother is good though, living with his family in the Adirondacks. I actually have two kids..and we live in South Jersey, right outside of Philadelpha. I have a 10-year-old son and my daughter is 14. She has a bag from Brodsky’s in her room! It is great telling them stories from “back in the day.” Not long ago, I told my daughter about the drama workshop we had that met at your apartment and how cool that was. I don’t think you could get away with that now, but it’s a great memory for me. What are you up to??

  20. Hi again Elisa,
    Once I was on the Today Show in the crowd when my niece turned 13 for her Bat Mitzvah we hung out in the city and slept at the Plaza. But that was a long time ago.
    As for me, I retired from full time teaching- Pearl River HS for the second half of my career and for the last 10 years, I have been a Director of the Hudson Valley Writing Project/Director of Technology, housed at SUNY New Paltz and we work with teachers in professional development. It’s been a great way to transition from my classrooms of 8-12 graders.
    It was amazingly special to teach classes at my house, even then it was amazing that I got to do it.
    Sorry to hear about your parents. I remember them both fondly.
    And you were a fantastic kid to work with! So good to reconnect. Are you on Face Book?
    Bonnie

  21. elisa

    I am on facebook…I’ll look you up there. My profile pic is me and the kids with my brother’s family. Your job sounds fantastic. Years ago, I worked in corporate training and now I educate for a skin care line, so I’m down with professional development. 🙂

  22. That’s great. I’m on with a lot of old students. It’s a great way to keep up in the present.
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

