White Ribbons: Movie Review

Yesterday we rode into New York to meet good friends for  White Ribbons and then dinner to digest good food and hopefully, a stimulating movie that’s just won a Golden Globe for best foreign film.

Let’s leave the food and focus on the movie.( I did stay within the parameters of my diet so I didn’t suffer any guilt.)

The movie is not one to find its way to mall theaters but in NYC, at the theater just across from Lincoln Center, we stood in a long time and had a choice of seats in the first or second rows, but thankfully the screen was well placed and we left after 2 1/2 hours without eye strain or neck aches.

The movie, in German with subtitles, was demanding-lots of characters and lots of text to read.  It was a rare piece in black and white and for me, I was heaven.  I miss black and white films. Even Woody Allen has moved totally to color these days.

White Ribbons, directed by Michael Haneke, an Austrian, weaves  a mysterious story that takes place in a small German town in 1913, just before the dawn of World War I.  In this seemingly idyllic environment a series of violent acts occur, seemingly unrelated.

The focus of the movie centers around the town’s children and how rigidly their parents try to raise them. The movie is narrated by an older man who shares his memories when he was, in his younger days, the village’s  schoolmaster.

When I saw the movie trailer at the Burns Film Center last week I was intrigued, thrilled to see it and yes, I was engaged  for the entire 2 1/2 hours, trying hard to keep up with the story’s details and our conversation was stimulating as we decompressed at Oneil’s Balloon. In keeping with my diet, I refused a vodka even though it would have made me feel better.Marie felt that the villages she had visited in Germany were accurately represented in the movie.  I felt and still feel that it was just too simplistic. There has been a great deal of work done on causes for Germany’s embrace of Hitler’s Nazism and I needed more from this film.

Would I recommend it?

Hmmm. I’m on the fence, but if you get to see this one, please remember to come back and share your reflections.

Tuvia was unmoved and in further conversations yesterday, I’m moving closer to him.  It did look gorgeous!

Categories: At the Movies | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “White Ribbons: Movie Review

  1. That was intriguing. I’ll see it when it comes out on DVD on Netflix. Sounds like a challenging one.

  2. And shut off everything else for 2 1/2 hours.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

