The Day After: 66/365 Slice #15

The tree in this photo is no longer standing and even though we went to bed late on Saturday night, we never heard it fall, but in the light on day on  Sunday as our lives started moving again, we glanced out into the backyard and found this once healthy maple on its side gracefully straddling  the fence that separates our house from Tuvia’s neighbor.  Ironically, we don’t talk to that neighbor anymore; not since the last big storm when one of his trees fell on Tuvia’s porch and did some damage and then he refused to pay for it.  I don’t think there’s damage to his fence, but that tree could have fallen on our house and didn’t.

Everywhere around us there was damage and many people lost power and some still don’t have it back. We were reading together.  The lights flickered twice. That’s it.

And in Rockland, in my neck of the woods, same thing.  Power went out everywhere around me and my condo power remained, which is unusual.  Lots of schools are closed today. And I was untouched by this storm.  I was untouched by the last big snow storm.  In Aruba we remained in summer mode and watched winter on TV.

I’m feeling guilty.  I remember hurricane Andrew and the mudslides in Piermont and the power outages in both of our homes.  It was horrible. So I want to stay with the people who are less fortunate than I am.  I want to keep feeling for them, instead of moving on to the next thing.  But I can’t… I need breakfast, I am washing clothes, guitar lesson, work at New Paltz…life.

A dilemma.  But yes, life goes on and I continue to be grateful.

Categories: A Month of Slicing 2010, A Photo A Day 365/2010, NabloPomo March '10 | Tags: , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “The Day After: 66/365 Slice #15

  1. I think you count your blessings and stay aware of those who are in need. Your opportunity to help others, to reach out and lend a hand, will present itself if you are open. Such a lovely, heartfelt post.

  2. Agreed!
    Bonnie

  3. Karen McComas

    I have a hedge of Leyland Cypresses that are 40 feet tall along the back of my lot. They have shallow roots and every time we have a big storm, I fear their death. Lost one this winter – pulled up by the roots and leaned on the fence surrounding the yard behind ours. Strangely, it wasn’t one of the trees on either side but one right in the middle of the stand.

  4. Hi Karen,
    Thanks for stopping by here. I’m used to seeing you over at Word Count. How are you?
    Bonnie

  5. Yes, what can you do about an act of nature/act of god but make yourself available when needed? Move on with your day and an opportunity to help will arise.

    That is a HUGE tree!

  6. It WAS a huge tree!

  7. What a beautiful tree it was! I think you are blessed that the house wasn’t damaged, and you were able to keep electricity.

  8. Wow, Bonnie. I lost a tree last month and it broke my heart (I’m saving a “slice” for that experience…) I’m so sorry. (It looks like a Pine, not a Maple. Am I missing something?) Here’s to trees that avoid falling on our houses!

  9. Exactly T-Dawg- Pine for sure.
    Bonnie

  10. Today as I went about on my errands, I couldn’t help but to begin counting all of the fallen trees. There were too many to count. What a shame!

  11. I know Caroline. What a tragedy
    Bonnie

  12. I’ve heard it said the best way to help the poor is to avoid becoming one of them. Maybe it’s the same with those devastated by natural forces. I’m glad you were not one of them. 😄

  13. Thanks XD!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

