It’s Official: 68/365 Slice 17

It’s official. Today I’ve been making myself crazy so I stopped everything, all activities – guitar practice for Saturday night, preparations for the start of our Summer Institute, and the last minute details for my documentary film class.

Everything stopped and I sat down to breathe.

What’s wrong with this picture?

I didn’t begin the day writing!  I didn’t fill in an entry on my Word Count Journal and I didn’t create a Slice. So I’m moving back in time to that start of the day before coffee, before a shower, before a “good morning” to Tuvia, when it’s just me and my computer. Well, I can’t go back all the way.  I’m not in a movie.

It’s 3:00 and don’t want to start everything over, but I need to continue the rest of my firmer ground.

How thrilling to be dependent on the act of writing into the day!

I still pinch myself, wondering how I got here. Writing? Me?  Not the first 40 years.   And how long has it been that my daily ritual begins with writing?

3 years?

Honestly, I think the key for me  was moving to a real audience in this world of instant publishing. Just the possiblity of someone out there reading what I write keeps me writing and in the process, I’ve come to love it for myself. It helps me make sense of  me in the world.

So I’m just about ready to move back into the world of my activites.  My fingers are itching to get back to the guitar before I have to get ready for my film class.

But as I come to the end of this Slice I have that warm, peaceful feeling.

Ahhh, the life of a writer!

Categories: A Photo A Day 365/2010, NabloPomo March '10, SOLC 2010 | Tags: , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “It’s Official: 68/365 Slice 17

  1. Lisa

    🙂

    It is motivating to me as well, to think that someone might read what I have to say.

  2. All I can say is that I’m breathing and smiling right now…

  3. jen

    Isn’t it amazing how just spending time writing makes one a writer??? And yet, we struggle, in schools, to make time for children to write. My own journey as a writer has been similar, which as impacted my list of priorities as a teacher, and now, it would take a natural disaster to keep my students and I from a day of reading or writing. 🙂

  4. You are such a writer.
    🙂
    Kevin

  5. Bonnie, I think you lead a fascinating life!

  6. I think it’s wonderful that you’ve become “dependent” on writing at the beginning of the day. It’s a wonderful time of day to get quality writing done.

  7. The possibility that someone, somewhere- out in the world- reads my work is energizing. The SOLSC has been a powerful tool, helping me grow as a writer and has helped me become excited about writing again. I’m glad blogging has instilled this love-this need-in you, too. I agree with Lennye…I think you lead a fascinating life. 🙂

  8. It’s funny how writing works its wonders in different ways for different people…I can see how it feels “right” to begin the day pen to paper for you. Yet, for me, the evening hours, after a day’s experiences, seems the “right” time for me to reach into my day, clear my thoughts and put pen to paper. Here’s to another writing day!

  9. I think it’s fascinating how you’ve committed both writing and photographing every day. I’m curious about your process. Does the picture come first or the writing. Or does it depend?

  10. Nice slice. Authentic and happy.

  11. I should follow your lead and start everyday with some writing. Thanks for the inspiration.

  12. @jen, I agree. I’m just disappointed that I didn’t get to writing sooner, but better later than not at all right?
    @ Thanks Kevin. Nice comment coming from YOU!
    @Lennye- thanks for saying so. Of course, I don’t see that. It’s nice that you do.
    @Stacey-yes. Dependent on writing, how cool!
    @ Kari-thank you very much for your kind words and writing to a real audience beats that formulaic writing kids are tortured with.
    @ Writing into the day and out of the day… I never have creative energy at night but it’s fun to blog read at night.
    @ Karren- Hmm chicken or the egg…. I usually write to the photo or there’s something I want to write about and I need a photo for it. But for sure, photo and writing work together
    @XO- happy- YES!
    @Nancy- My pleasure…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

