Router Time: 122/365 NaBloPoMo#14

This is the new router in the house. Not very exciting but oh so critical to the running of wireless in my space.  My original router was on its last legs and I wasn’t surprised when last week I lost internet connection on all my wireless devices and when my Cablevision support tried troubleshooting with me at 5:30 am via phone, it was clear to both of us that it was time for a new one.

Over the weekend I stopped at Best Buy and gratefully spoke with a young techie who seemed to know about routers.  I almost grabbed the one step Cisco model for $89.00 but moved with my guy to the 3-step version for a $30.00 savings, after all, I am a bit of a techie now, no?

But in the back of my mind I remembered  watching my serious tech friends connect routers in the past and installation was never without time and phone support,  but maybe I wanted to believe my Best Buy guy that it would be quick and easy so I opted for the 3- stepper.

I brought it home, removed the parts, followed the small pamphlet of directions and at first and the first step seemed child’s play.  But then  the last of the 3 steps and installation failed. The router was not found. I tried a few more times. Nope, no way.

I passed by the online support and started calling their 24/7 line.  After one, two, voices I got to Brian who was with me, step, by step, by step for the next two  hours after he had to take control of my computer to move through the layers of Apple controls to get to the network.  I teased him about hacking and he responded with official clarity. No, he was not hacking. I believed and as we finished and I thanked him, he shared news that his birthday was coming and it would be helpful if I could say good things about him when someone from the company called. Of course, what a pleasure.

So as I write this post I am still freshly grateful to the success of our collaboration to make it all possible to be wireless again.  Remember when we were satisfied when the online phone access got us online with on phone call?  AOL dial up.Who remembers that?  How quickly we can forget how far we’ve come.

Have a good one…

Bonnie

Categories: A Photo A Day 365/2010, NaBloPoMo June 2010 | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Router Time: 122/365 NaBloPoMo#14

  1. Good for you techy. I am frustrated with teaching myself my corel painting program. Little by little, I’ll get there.

    Thanks for your comment on the lei. It takes me almost two hours to make one. I do them while I watch TV. It does take a few lei to get comfortable with making them. (For me anyway.)

  2. I hear that. I used to work on counted cross stitch pieces. Slow but steady with TV.
    Bonnie

  3. Susan van Gelder

    My first modem was a 300 baud dial-up. And I thought it was magical. I can still here the connection sound and feel that satisfaction as I connected to the outside world. Congratulations on your latest connectivity. I love the way it has put me in touch with intriguing people from around the world.

  4. I agree Susan!
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

