Ready for SI’10 131/365 SOLT

Summer Institute Orientation at the Hudson Valley Writing Project

Click to Watch the Video Log:

BK’s Digital Log

I don’t remember when I started to create digital logs to kick off our summer institute that offered our SI community an opportunity to revisit their orientations digitally but for me, it’s a great deadline that’s folded into the process.  I love creating these pieces but with the pressure of a deadline the process is richer.  I can’t say that Tuvia is crazy about my intensity during this holiday time every year, but he is patient.

Tomorrow we begin for the 10th time.  11th actually for me.  But that first time I had nothing to do with the leadership, I was just nervous about joining a new community and I’m so glad I did!

For the next month I will need more sleep, I will put my car through a driving intensity as I drive up and back to New Paltz Monday-Thursday.  I will obsess about everything, but in the end it will be worth it, so worth it.  And it looks like I will be taking a break next summer, leaving the leadership team for SI’11.  I’m sure I will play a part but not as centrally.  I think it’s time for new voices to love what I’ve had for the last 10 years.  And with a little help from my friends, I think there’s new challenges ahead, if we still have a National Writing Project.

So to prepare for tomorrow I have to tweak my workshop and get my head together.  So I’m off.

More reports to come…

Bonnie

And you can find more Slices at Two Writing Teachers

Categories: A Photo A Day 365/2010, HVWP Summer Institute 2010, Slice of Life Tuesdays | Tags: , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Ready for SI’10 131/365 SOLT

  1. Best luck with Tuesday.

  2. Good luck! I’ll be thinking of yo as I head in to TC for the Reading Institute…

  3. I meant “you”, of course…I’m definitely not cool enough to be “yo” ing anybody..ever…

  4. Thanks Ladies.
    I can’t wait to be immersed again 🙂
    Bonnie

  5. Good luck this week. I’m sure it will be a fantastic week of learning for everyone! Looking forward to hearing more.

  6. I’m also looking forward to hearing more. It sounds like it will be a meaningful week for all involved!

  7. What a great video. I am so inspired. I want to do this exercise on my own, pulling out artifacts that represent me as a writer, maybe posting it on my blog for comments.
    thanks again and again

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

