Back To School: #144/365

I have been out of my high school English classroom now for 5 years and I still have some of those horrible anxiety dreams: I can’t find my classroom, I enter the room and I’m naked, I walk in and kids throw pencils at me…  I get fewer now, but somehow they keep me connected to my “group”.  But given the new climate of educational reform, I’m glad I’m not in the war now but I’m obsessed with the misguided work in the name of educational reform. 

I am standing with my fellow teachers in their classrooms, reading and sharing links that spread the word of people like Diane Ravitch and Linda Darling Hammond and the progressives.

There’s a issue with jobs right now but can you imagine what would happen if teachers could leave their classrooms?  I wonder how many new teachers would give up.  I wonder how many students, considering teaching as a profession will turn to something else given this new atmosphere of firing teachers who can’t keep their student scores up and moving…

I wonder what I would have done?  Maybe law?

Even though I didn’t stop my Staples last week to fill a wagon with school supplies, I was out walking with my teacher bud Sharon, on a photo walk at the Hudson,  a tradition we have continued even though we are not returning to a classroom.  So the photo above showcases that late August walk and instead of heading for Pearl River, I got into my car and rode up the Thurway to New Paltz to help plan the upcoming year at the Hudson Valley Writing Project.  So even though I don’t have my own classroom I will be in other classrooms and working with our great teachers and their students.  Now a bad way to spend a year!

Categories: A Photo A Day 365/2010, Ed reform | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Back To School: #144/365

  1. Sounds perfect to me!

  2. carol dyer

    Those young teachers are as lucky to have you as your high school students were in Pearl River. I couldn’t agree with you more about test scores being the measure of a teacher. Let’s inspire our kids instead of worrying about their numbers.
    I love the Hudson photo and I am sure you and Sharon had a ball!!!

  3. Susan van Gelder

    So hard to swim against the tide of people who don’t understand education but think they should tell everyone how schools should be. No Child Left Behind – only shows that people don’t understand that children develop at different rates, that they are not robots that can be programmed, but people with different make-ups, different sets of life challenges… I also work with teachers who I respect tremendously, but wonder how to inspire the politicians to see what teachers deal with every day.

  4. @ Susan and @ Carol… new tests are coming and will they cost a bundle and will teachers be taken seriously in the equation? Hmmm…
    I remember when I was treated with respect and my classroom was a playground… Who can say that now?
    Bonnie

  5. I have had those dreams every year, but this year, my pre-first day dreams were less about the classroom, where I have some measure of control, and more about the larger system over which I have none. A classroom is a scary place for a teacher to be, and even more so for the teachers who are jobless and wondering how their teacher education programs have served them. I guess I can be thankful that the students are not at the root of my fears anymore. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

