Transitions: 146/365 SOLT

It’s fall and I’m almost ready to put away my shorts and sandals and transition into my jeans and long-sleeved shirts and head to my mall to freshen up my wardrobe.  I am ready to move on, to enjoy the cool evenings, and the smell autumn and what better way to begin than a Monday in my space in the midst of the Jewish holidays that usher in the New Year and allow me to take stock of where I am now.

So I am transitioning.  I am playing more guitar and enjoying the smile on my teacher’s face as he pushed me yesterday, for 1 1/2 hours. As I played my pieces, I often forgot he was sitting in my tall-backed leather chair listening and encouraging me to return to our flamenco group with some play dates in October, joining forces with a local Spanish dance group.

At the Hudson Valley Writing Project we are working as a leadership team, planning the work of the site for this year and my digital projects are filling up fast, with challenges of my choosing.

Finally, I am taking time during the week to study Hebrew before I get to my Monday night class and with Tuvia’s family around us now, I have lots of native speakers ready to respond when I jump in and start to talk.  I’m not there yet.

And my trio(two Bonnie’s and a Julia) above, my one and only book club is back for breakfast and book updates and my Kindle/iPad is filling with books to be read. We have been together through relationships, loss, life and there’s more to come.  We are founded in our passion for books and beyond that, our lives. Once a month, over good food we meet to share our life updates.

And I’m hoping that out of this current educational war of ideas, that good things rise from the ashes.  I am reading everything I come across on Twitter and Facebook and I want to believe that a hard look at assessment will open the door for measures that will truly examine and encourage 21st century learning and get us beyond the teacher bashing.  Am I being too optimistic?  I  did try watching Oprah yesterday as she welcomed Bill Gates, Michelle Rhee and the creators of the new movie, Waiting for Superman.  Of course I didn’t see a classroom teacher or educator supporting public schools in the group.  But I need to remain positive, after all the sun is shining and my passion for the classroom continues even if I’m not a resident of 310 anymore.

Anyway, time for breakfast and a transition into Tuesday.

Have a good one!

Bonnie

Categories: A Photo A Day 365/2010, Slice of Life Tuesdays | Tags: , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Transitions: 146/365 SOLT

  1. Happy Fall Bonnie!
    Your reaction to “Oprah” was similar to mine — where were the teachers? While I was more impressed with Michelle Rhee than I expected to be, I was disappointed with how corporate the ‘fix’ is. However, what disturbed me most was when they said the most successful schools are the ones where the teachers accept (homework) calls from students as late as 11 p.m. While I gave out my # to a few students when I was teaching, I set limits to when they could call. Teachers deserve to have a life. Even doctors aren’t on-call for patients all year, all night. Something seems amiss when teachers are expected to be on-call all of the time (and work longer hours without union protection) in the name of student success.
    Am I making sense? If not, I apologize. I’ve been home with a horrendous cough and cold for the past two days. I’m sure I’ll be more articulate once I’m well (and not coughing up a lung).

    • Good Diane article on the issue. Love her! I don’t think I will see the movie. The clips were hard enough. More studies coming out against the Obama approach to educational reform. Yesterday results of the 3-year study focused on pay tied to test results. I’m smiling and still supporting Obama. How can that be?
      Bonnie

  2. When I saw this title on your post, I put off reading it because I didn’t want to read a sad post about someone dying.

    Funny, huh, to me transitioning is dying?

    Loved hearing what you are up to and that it is so upbeat and full of promise and energy.

  3. mag

    Crispy, crunchy fall! i think this would be aperfect time for New Year’s… but I suppose that’s why we start a new school year! I came across the trailer for Superman early in August and wondered how the final product would emerge. Somehow I knew education would take a bad rap.

  4. Wanda Brown

    I had the same feelings as I tuned in and tuned out of Oprah. Sad to see that by playing up the magent schools, it makes the public schools look bad.

    Bonnie, you are so busy with so many projects…I hope this is what my retirement will look like. I want to do more photography, more writing, more reading and yes maybe even a different language.

    You are an inspiration.

  5. Bonnie…you’ve done it again. You’ve used a photograph that encapsulates joy and connection. And you’ve used words to capture that sublime Fall feeling, when all feels vested with possibility and energy.
    About Michelle Rhee and Oprah and Bill Gates…I don’t know. There is this sense of bringing the “know how” of corporate America into our classrooms and our childrens’ lives – we’ve all seen how much corporate America values everyone else. I don’t know that the business model is what we need to turn around the fractious debate about our schools and our kids. To tell you the truth, Oprah bugs me – but that is another conversation. Thank you for a lovely post!

  6. I am so glad there are writers like you to bring such thinking and questioning. I don’t have as many “provocateurs” as you have named but I value everything they bring – to my full, half full, and empty plate – the image provided by a fellow blogger!

  7. I am leaning into fall – pulling out my sweaters and enjoying the colors. And doing more knitting, a true fall and winter activity.
    Juliann

  8. Annie

    Lovely post. I went to a John Legend concert last year and was dismayed that he played very little music and spent the whole time talking about this movie project and charter schools. Talk about “bait and switch!” I don’t want to see it, but think I need to. I’ll let you know how it is.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

