Calluses: 14/31 SOLC

Here’s my sore fingers.  After two weeks away it was a tough road back to my calluses

WELCOME BACK!

Tomorrow, when I pick up my guitar to practice I will feel these finger pads softening the strings as I press against them to create music.

FInally, I can make music that’s sweet to the ears and I can control the moments. holidng bacck a great chord I know is coming soon.

I am working on a piece called Impromptu.  I  first heard it on a CD played by classical guitarist, David Russell.  I fell in love in seconds and played it over and over for an hour as I traveled to New Paltz.  It didn’t sound difficult.  They never sound difficult and I started talking to Jon about taking it on.

He was game.  He’s almost always supportive even when he knows that it will take months for me to learn a piece I’ve fallen in love with.  It’s March 14, and I am half way through it, maybe a bit more and the magic is beginning. I’m starting to hear it as I play with my own passion.

.  As I type this post I can feel my calluses are back again.

Welcome!

 

 

Categories: a photo a day 2011, post a day 2011, Slice of Life Challenge 2011 | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Calluses: 14/31 SOLC

  1. the other ruth

    I’m going to have my son read this–he plays bass with his school orchestra and bass guitar with jazz band and on his own. I know he’ll relate to your post.
    Framing your piece with the bit about the calluses works so well. Love it!

  2. I like how you add pictures to give another dimension to your writing. Makes my mind think how would I “illustrate/photograph” pieces of my own work. Thank you for the inspiration.

  3. MaryHelen

    “Finger pads softening the strings” paints a picture in my mind. It’s neat to read how you are growing with your playing.

  4. This reminds me of a poem I just posted for Poetry Friday: Yehuda Amichai’s poem and these lines:

    and the rivers of his hands

    overflowed with good deeds.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

