Sunday Morning: 20/31 SOLC

 

Good Morning Slicers,

Welcome to Sunday mornings at Tuvia’s. The news is everywhere. I am wondering now if I can live without the NY Times on line or will I break down and pay for it.

Tuvia continues to read the paper version and on weekends, I’m with him %100.  Of course you can’t hear it but the TV is blaring NBC News becasue we need it all!

Of course there’s coffee brewing, toast toasting and soon I will be gently reminded that the day ahead is calling.

Brunch for my dad today with the family!

I need to keep this Slice short and sweet.  Last night’s slice was a biggie for me, taking on the hole in my heart now that it’s official, literacy programs that work (National Writing Project) are not worthwhile budgetary expenses.

Our efforts continue though:

https://blkdrama.wordpress.com/2011/03/20/blog4nwp-1931-solc/

If you have had any connection with the NWP, please take time to share your experiences and send it to : csansing@gmail.com  Today is the last day.

Have a good one,

Bonnie

Categories: a photo a day 2011, National Writing Project, post a day 2011, Slice of Life Challenge 2011 | Tags: , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Sunday Morning: 20/31 SOLC

  1. Have a good day. Thanks for the address.

  2. I am a cup half full type of person. I feel for the loss of NWP but hope in my heart that something bigger and even greater will arise. I know it is hard to think positively right now but enjoy your paper, your coffee and toast, and have a wonderful time with your family. Big losses can be minimized but looking at all the little things around you that are right.

    • I wish I could feel optimistic Wanda. I think this unnecessary, ridiculous loss of funding is just one example of many others working against true educational reform.
      Bonnie

  3. missmoyer

    “soon I will be gently reminded that the day ahead is calling.”
    beautiful words.

  4. Christy

    “Last night’s slice was a biggie for me, taking on the hole in my heart now that it’s official, literacy programs that work (National Writing Project) are not worthwhile budgetary expenses.” This line speaks to me. The fact that what we do is so close to our hearts makes our line of work unique. The media has been portraying teachers as money-grubbing, lazy, idiots lately and though we all know one of those kinds of teachers, they are not the majority by any means. Most of us are the kind who are left with holes in our hearts because programs that help students in ways that don’t show up in easy-to-read colorful graphs and charts for men in suits to analyze are being undervalued and even cut entirely. Thanks for letting your passionate, intelligent, artful voice be heard. I just wish more people were listening!

  5. Hope your day provides you with time to renew and refresh your spirit. Your passion for writing and writng projects has so inspired me the last few years. Your works has not be in vain.

  6. The passion & work you must have done to keep what is close to your heart shows through, even on Sunday morning, trying to ‘do’ the rest of your life.

  7. Lisa

    When I read your slices, I think you have a pretty great life! I hope my retirement is as great as yours.

  8. Yes, Bonnie – like Julianne, your posts and your writing – and pictures – have been an inspiration for me. I read your entries about writing and always see crusaders blazing across open fields with banners of book pages and students like townspeople running behind. Sully forth my friend.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

