Saying Kaddish: SOLSC #24

Yesterday as I living with my morning conversation with Andy,  an idea started to take form in my mind. I’m not a religious person.  I don’t go to a synagogue, I”m not even sure how I feel about G-d but as a kid, I did have a very meaningful experience learning to pray in our Jewish community.

For years I went to Shabbat services and sat with my rabbi- Hebrew teacher until I got kicked upstairs to sit with the women when I turned 13.  But the joy of prayer was with me.

During the service the mourner’s saying Kaddish would stand during the service to recite a the prayer with the leader and even though I was not mourning I stood too, following the lead of Rabbi Cohen.  He maintained that those mourning needed our support.  Even though my trips to the synagogue are rare these days, I always stand, supporting the mourners.

The prayer for mourning is a central prayer in Judaism and interesting that includes nothing about death or dying.  It’s focus is on G-d.  I still know it by heart.

So I’m thinking that I will say Kaddish for Eileen.  Every morning, for 11 months,  as I greet the day I will recite the prayer and spend some precious moments remembering Eileen.

English Translation:

Glorified and sanctified be God’s great name throughout the world which He has created according to His will. May He establish His kingdom in your lifetime and during your days, and within the life of the entire House of Israel, speedily and soon; and say, Amen.

May His great name be blessed forever and to all eternity.

Blessed and praised, glorified and exalted, extolled and honored, adored and lauded be the name of the Holy One, blessed be He, beyond all the blessings and hymns, praises and consolations that are ever spoken in the world; and say, Amen.

May there be abundant peace from heaven, and life, for us
and for all Israel; and say, Amen.

He who creates peace in His celestial heights, may He create peace for us and for all Israel; and say, Amen.

Sponsored by
MyKaddish.com
 
Categories: SOLSC 2012 | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Saying Kaddish: SOLSC #24

  1. wkb57

    Bonnie, I did not see your post yesterday. I think any way you choose to honor your friend will be the right way for you and for her. My grandmother would tell you to spend some time with nature while you mourn. Touch the soil, feel the wind, listen for the birds. See all the beautiful sights around you.

  2. That’s so beautiful, Wanda 🙂
    Bonnie

  3. It’s a beautiful way to center yourself before the day.
    Kevin

  4. May Eileen’s memory be a blessing, Bonnie.

    I’ve never believed that only immediate family members should say Kaddish. Just said it the other day for my Grandma.

    Just wondering… When you say kicked upstairs, is that because you grew up in a shul with a mechitza?

  5. This sounds like a wonderful way to begin a day and savor the memory of a special person in your life. Peace be with you Bonnie.

  6. Thank you so much for sharing the Kaddish. It’s beautiful and may healing come to your heart.

  7. What a beautiful and fitting tribute to a dear friend. I’m sure it will bring you solace as well. I want to share with you a poem that a friend send to me at the time of my mother’s passing last Spring. It’s title means ‘blessing’ in Gaelic.

    Beannacht
    (“Blessing”)
     
    On the day when
    the weight deadens
    on your shoulders
    and you stumble,
    may the clay dance
    to balance you.
     
    And when your eyes
    freeze behind
    the grey window
    and the ghost of loss
    gets in to you,
    may a flock of colours,
    indigo, red, green,
    and azure blue
    come to awaken in you
    a meadow of delight.
     
    When the canvas frays
    in the currach of thought
    and a stain of ocean
    blackens beneath you,
    may there come across the waters
    a path of yellow moonlight
    to bring you safely home.
     
    May the nourishment of the earth be yours,
    may the clarity of light be yours,
    may the fluency of the ocean be yours,
    may the protection of the ancestors be yours.
    And so may a slow
    wind work these words
    of love around you,
    an invisible cloak
    to mind your life.
     

    ~ John O’Donohue ~

    Sending you love,
    Lynn

  8. You have found a profoundly meaningful way to honor Eileen…may it bring you peace and acceptance, my friend.

  9. Thank you for explaining and sharing the Kaddish. What a nice way to honor your friend each day.

  10. Lisa

    I think the prayer is lovely. Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

