Conversations with Eileen Day 3: SOLSC #28

 

Afternoon Friend,

It’s been another long one and even though I froze for most of my visit in Eville, the sun is back out here with lots of heat to make up the last 24 hours of a more normal end-of-March.

On my way to visit with your family and friends yesterday my stomach was doing some usual jumping and as I sat just across the road, I caught the house complete with burbling brook.

Just outside, capturing the moment, breathing deeply and finally out and  pushing open your  door, everything inside was about you.

Andy, Jenny, Meryl, Madlyn, Mark…. more…friends everywhere… thinking, talking, tearing up to you.

Soon I could relax and enjoy the opportunity to catch up with Madlyn in your living room.

I’m just trying to adjust to this world without you just a phone call away.

This is all new for me, this territory of loss.  This first week I just feel vulnerable and often exhausted.  I just want to sleep.

 

Categories: Conversations with Eileen, SOLSC 2012 | Tags: , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Conversations with Eileen Day 3: SOLSC #28

  1. Bonnie,
    You are letting us in on such a personally emotional time for you. Thanks! I think it helps us all.

  2. It is a journey none of us wants to take when a cherished one dies. It is universal, though and we all walk that path. We have been walking with you these past few days. Maybe sharing has in some way made it a little more bearable. I am so sorry for your loss.

  3. This was very personal and intensely moving. I am sorry for your loss. Your writing invited me in. Thanks you for sharing the burden. I’m sending you a warm hug and a big prayer.

  4. My heart goes out to you. It takes courage to be able to share these heartfelt feelings. I hope in some way it gives you some comfort to write about your loss.

  5. My prayers are with you. The loss of a dear friend or familiy member is a sad SOL for us all. You have put into words the feeling of despair and loneliness that goes along with such lostt.

  6. So sorry about your loss. Wishing you peace and comfort…

  7. Bonnie,
    A few years ago a dear friend of mine passed away, after a ten year battle with melanoma. Jeri, who was one of the most alive people I have ever known, left a husband and three teenage girls. Someone read this at her funeral and somehow, I found it very comforting. I’m praying that it will bring you peace as well…

    Dying
    Henry Van Dyke

    I am standing upon the seashore. A ship, at my side,
    spreads her white sails to the moving breeze and starts
    for the blue ocean. She is an object of beauty and strength.
    I stand and watch her until, at length, she hangs like a speck
    of white cloud just where the sea and sky come to mingle with each other.

    Then, someone at my side says, “There, she is gone”

    Gone where?

    Gone from my sight. That is all. She is just as large in mast,
    hull and spar as she was when she left my side.
    And, she is just as able to bear her load of living freight to her destined port.

    Her diminished size is in me — not in her.
    And, just at the moment when someone says, “There, she is gone,”
    there are other eyes watching her coming, and other voices
    ready to take up the glad shout, “Here she comes!”

    And that is dying…

  8. The fact that you have others to grieve with , who share those deep and lasting memories, must be a source of some comfort to you, Bonnie.

  9. Sending what comfort I can through the space, Bonnie. I’m glad you can visit with Eileen’s family, visit her home, touch and hug.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

