I’m here but not HERE: Conversations with Eileen Day 41

Morning Friend,
Sunday morning with lots of sunshine and heat and it’s a perfect taste of the summer.
I am writing a post after a week of struggling to get a new digital piece finished. The one above about a great Kindergarten teacher as been long overdue. I had a mission to document her work from last summer. I had photos and video downloaded in my spanking brand new software and often clicked around for a visit but I left it, feeling that I was missing something.
Finally, with the interview I needed, I got to work. Slowly of course. I kept opening video clips, watching and then closing. I moved around photos and started building the timeline and as I worked, Apple worked to update the software and make it easier to work with.
I had a target date, a workshop presentation for the HVWP SI’12 Orientation yesterday and while I could have presented without it, it was so nice to have it.
Rebecca has no problem opening her classroom to the world and going public. She can tell her story like no one I know and it was just what this group of teachers needed to see.
We need to break the ONE STORY that’s being told about teachers and the digital approach was a great format.
Of course, I am thinking about everything I didn’t say, but I am more satisfied than I’m not. Feels good to keep at this. Remember the early days?
I began my workshop with my first piece and ended with my newest one. What a lot of time has passed in between.
Remember?
Miss you,
Bonnie

PS. This TED talk inspired my workshop and worked well with Rebecca’s story:

Categories: Conversations with Eileen | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I’m here but not HERE: Conversations with Eileen Day 41

  1. Dear Bonnie, Thank you, thank you for sharing this video. It’s just great, says so many important things about language acquisition and application. I loved seeing the many ways they took paths ‘out of’ their town into other language experiences. Our primary teachers use blocks continually through the year in just this way. The students do not tire of building play and the usefulness of this platform cannot be measured for early language learners. Remember that I taught the middle school students for many years, and one year, discovered that all of my students had always been at the school. One of the primary teachers and I collaborated & my middle school kids built one last block city in May, and loved every minute. Our focus was partly on finding the ‘play’ in them still, some nostalgic memory writing for those 8th graders leaving us, seeing what would happen with the older ones and blocks. It was a good experience for all of us.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

