Waiting for the Call: Conversations with Eileen Day 53

Morning Friend,

The family is gathering.  My Aunt Sally and Cousin Elaine are driving down from Canada to join us. Sally the youngest of the 4 sisters will soon be the last one standing. Just this morning I changed my phone contract to include international calls from Toronto.  Something tells me that my frequent calls to her should and will continue.

My mom’s room is filling beyond its usual seating and the evening is unending, especially this evening because it feels more final even though my mom is still showing signs of life, refusing Tuvia’s predictions.

I am still up in the darkness as International House Hunters offers background sounds. Usually I can sleep easily but not tonight.  I think about the family wondering when their journey to join us should begin.  Josh in Brooklyn, itching to open his new restaurant, Manda wondering in Princeton.

I carry my iPhone everywhere, checking to make sure I haven’t missed the call.

I have been adjusting over the last few years to the aging of my parents, especially my mom.  I have tried to meet her just where she is, accepting, remembering when our roles were reversed and wondering how old age will treat me.

 

Categories: Conversations with Eileen, Thinking about my mom | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Waiting for the Call: Conversations with Eileen Day 53

  1. Thinking of you, Bonnie!

  2. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers, Bonnie.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

