Barcelona Love Last Day for Now: Conversations with Eileen

We are spending our last night in Barcelona, just as I have finally made my peace with sleeping normally, maybe. Once again the weather was with us today and when you can walk casually along wide streets trimmed with greenery, sculptures and crowds moving at a relaxed pace, well you have it all. Cool mornings and evenings. Warm afternoons and tourists joining us on lines but all manageable. I’m wondering what it would have been like if our original plans had landed us here in the heat and season of July?

So for today, for our last day, we had a heaping tablespoon of Gaudi, and while we did spend time with his other treasures, today I was able to learn why his stamp is so indelible on the world. Touring two houses just blocks away from one another, I could see myself living in either one, really and to think he built them, every inch of them in the early 1900s.

I don’t have the words, but sifting through my crop of photos, even though I haven’t figured out how to get them here, I have some photos that did capture what I was seeing and experiencing…and you know, Tuvia was probably not seeing himself living in either house but he did enjoy the Gaudi experience as well.

And just walking…without feeling any paranoia about our bags. Yes, we were careful but then we are always careful. How can you not, living so close to NYC!

So tomorrow morning will be leisurely until we get the high speed train at 1. And then we off to Madrid and a few towns outside the city. With my buddy Andrea’s direction, we have restaurants galore. And Sharon has her trusty Madrid guidebook filled with her pics. If Barcelona is any preview of coming attractions, I’ll be using my train time to plan out our touring schedule.

It’s all good. All good. I can feel the call from Barcelona in my future… come back… come back Bonnie…

20121001-233639.jpg

Categories: Conversations with Eileen | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Barcelona Love Last Day for Now: Conversations with Eileen

  1. What an adventure….you had a soggy start but then magic toook over. Amazing pictures, Bonnie…can’t wait to “see” what Madrid brings! Safe travels, my friend.

  2. I can tell you what it was like in July, hot and crowded. So glad the weather started to cooperate. I can’t wait to read about Madrid. I heard Barcelona whispering to me too. I want to return. šŸ™‚

  3. Bonnie K

    All good friends!

  4. So nice to hear about this treasure of a trip for you & Tuvia, Bonnie. Happiness is evident. I like your picture of Tuvia!

  5. hmmm….someday soon I hope…thanks for sharing xo nanc

  6. I am looking forward to hearing about Madrid. Barcelona sounds wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

