Surprise, Sessions!: Conversations with Eileen

Morning my friend,

The fog is thick today. I know the Hudson is flowing just below me but at the moment I am patiently waiting for burn off.  My camera is itchy for new shots.

It’s hard to believe that yesterday was so gorgeous and that we got to see another great movie. This one did not come from me-it was Tuvia’s discovery. Good thing I went along for the ride.

Sessions is the true story of  Mark O’Brien, a 38-year-old man who contracted polio at a young age and was left crippled from the neck down.  He lives in an iron lung and can only be out 3 hours at a time and  he is obsessed with the fact that he’s still a virgin and Helen Hunt, sex therapist, to the rescue.

I’m not sure how you’re feeling about the story so far, but trust me, it’s so worth it.

Great acting from John Hawkes playing Mark and Helen Hunt, who at 49 looks amazing in the nude and continues to take on challenging films that probably don’t offer the paycheck that she might take home if she had landed a small role in let’s say, the latest James Bond film. Maybe this will win her an Oscar nomination along with John. And  William H. Macy plays Mark’s friend-priest who encourages him to live as fully as he can.

What a great Sunday!  Home for the morning, lunch at Strawberry Place, Sessions in the afternoon, back home for dinner, a new episode of Homeland and a great dreamy night.

Perfect way to get ready for a busy week.

Sessions, I so recommend this one! Of course, it might be a challenge to find it.

 

Categories: Conversations with Eileen, movie reviews | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Surprise, Sessions!: Conversations with Eileen

  1. I imagine one of our art screens will have this, Bonnie. It sounds good, & I know what you mean about Helen Hunt. She is good, isn’t she? Glad you had a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

