I Can’t Stop Thinking About This!: Conversations with Eileen

Screenshot 12:19:12 7:06 AMMorning my Friend,

We have been dealing with a horror since last Friday.  On one of those gorgeous mornings, as schools were in holiday mode we were all caught unaware by an act  so outrageously horrible that we as a country would be stopped dead in our tracks.  A killing spree at an elementary school and while we never saw the images of the classroom filled with dead children, I have been living with a version in my mind and I’m wondering about the first responders who opened the door to the horror.  How do they sleep soundly again?

I couldn’t even post a photo of the collages on Facebook that identify the murdered children with photos of faces in moments of their lives.  It’s too much for me but what their families? And where do we go from here?  It seems that the slaughter of 6 and 7 year-olds has brought the usual conversation of gun control into the forefront with a stronger sense of purpose, but can we trust that it won’t fade away as it has so often?

I remember conversations that we’ve had on this issue after similar episodes of insanity but I’m hoping that it will be different this time.  I can the skepticism in your voice.  I want to believe that there’s a wind for change from the usual.  We are still riding the winds of a big win in the last election that Obama needs to ride with power and confidence.  This is his time to step up and lead.  Can he do it?

I’m hoping…hoping… and still the image of that classroom is with me.

Bonnie

It’s good to be up and writing 🙂

Categories: Conversations with Eileen | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I Can’t Stop Thinking About This!: Conversations with Eileen

  1. Arlene

    I agree, Bonnie, I can’t wipe images out of my head either. It’s horrifying and can’t even imagine how those families and that community is dealing with this.

  2. It is time….and people are paying attention. We have to!

  3. YES! Tara, Happy Holidays. When do we meet? Arlene, Dates for January?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

