In the Digital Groove: Conversations with Eileen/ Slice of Life Tuesdays

Morning Eileen and Slicers,

I am feeling good, really good, living and working for the last few weeks, in my digital world.  I’ve been working on two new digital pieces  simultaneously.  That’s a first for me.  Another first is the absence  of  my crazed obsession.  I’ve been rather cool and available  throughout the process.  Usually, Tuvia has to keep calling me back from the tree.

I can’t explain it, but I’m enjoying it.  I am now in the last stages of the piece I’m going to share with you.  I want this teaser to represent our Hudson Valley Project’s Young Writers Programs that we offer in the summer for elementary- high school kids.  We have great teachers ready to work, we usually get enough kids to run more than one program, but in the past, we have had no one person in charge and no organization for focused planning.

This year we have a team meeting now and I’ve been charged with the challenge to create a digital piece that showcases our work, a teaser. I worked on this piece for a good amount of time when we first talked about it as a team.  I had lots of video and photos collected over time.   That’s my passion, as you know. And then I left it during the week of vacation.  Not that I was engaged in other activities, but I guess I need to torture myself with some usual procrastination right up to the weekend before, when I was engaged in the second piece due  first.

When I opened the draft, I had lots to video to cut.  The razor blade tool in Final Cut is one of my best friends and the editing began.  It was easier than I thought.  I had a session at the Apple store built into the process for all the questions I was listing as I worked.  One great hour with anApple techie for a fresh eye  and some tech support on the software changes and  I had an interesting first draft that I was ready to share with a small group.  Yes, I was nervous.  I’m not used to any panel judging my work.  Not even if they are people I love and respect.

In those first silent  tortuous seconds after the piece ended, I wondered.  I didn’t get an initial round of applause the way we always greet a reading of prose, so when the group members started picking out things they liked etc. I stopped them, asked for the applause and reset the conversation to the big ideas of the piece… Stunned and silent at first, I did get what I asked for.  Interesting, that we need a structure to support digital composers.

Actually, I’m very open to feedback and I have been revising ever since that first session last week and loving it.  I think this piece is meant for a diverse audience.  Sure, it’s for friends and educators who are interested in the work of the Hudson Valley Writing Project. Prospective teachers, but the primary group is parents, who are looking for a simulating summer program for their kids.  We have programs for elementary, middle school and high school kids and we have great teachers.  Actually, right after the viewing with that first team Tom and I sat together and he spontaneously  added his piece that appears  the end of the piece, folding in some of what seemed to be missing.

So, finally, I’m asking you.  If you have 6 1/2 minutes could you take a look at my piece and let me know what you think.  Applause is not necessary. 🙂

 

Bonnie

Categories: Conversations with Eileen, Hudson Valley Writing Project, Slice of Life Tuesdays 2013 | Tags: , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “In the Digital Groove: Conversations with Eileen/ Slice of Life Tuesdays

  1. Applause is here! One of the parts that touched me was the comment about time, an integral part of my school’s philosophy where we believe students need large blocks of time to think, work, mess about, play. Some of that involves writing, some working on projects. Another important part is building with blocks in early primary. Older students bring the memory of that through all their years at the school. FYI-one year I worked with one of the teachers and supported my middle school students in building their last block city together. Yes, even 7th & 8th graders built, and created, and then wrote, just as you described. Your program sounds amazing; I only wish it was much closer! I love hearing from the teachers too, so inspiring, Bonnie. You did good!! And thank you.

    • Thanks so much for your close viewing and your sharing of your own teaching passions. We are in this together, my friend 🙂
      Bonnie

  2. I just love the way you’ve put these different pieces of the puzzle together! It creates a narrative that draws you and and helps you to see the importance of this work. I have to go watch the rest of Lucy’s story.

  3. 🙂 I just posted a newer revision and to think, in the pen and paper days I hated to touch my work after I had something down… Thanks for the enthusiasm Katie. I was just about to click on your latest blog post.

  4. Don’t you wish all teachers and children could teach and learn to their hearts’ desires and hearts’ content all the time, not just in summer programs – with freedom of movement, freedom of time and freedom of choices – I want to go to there… sigh. applause. sigh.

  5. While applause is not necessary, it is earned. Your piece exemplifies what writing is all about – sharing dreams and hopes and ideas throughout our lives. This is great!

  6. Thanks you Anita. Now I’m making myself crazy with revising it. But I need to leave it and move on for now.

  7. top 100 apps

    I am starting a online blog directory and was wanting to know if I can submit your site?
    I’m hoping to grow my directory little by little by hand so that it maintains good quality. I’ll make sure
    and put your website in the appropriate category and I’ll additionally use, “In the Digital Groove: Conversations with Eileen/ Slice of Life Tuesdays | blkdrama” as your anchor text. Be sure to let me know if this is ok with you by mailing me. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

