Up Early and Slicing into Day 2: Conversations with Eileen and SOLC2013

sols_6Morning Slicers,

Honestly, it’s not a good thing to be up at 5, actually earlier, not on a morning when I have to be in my car by 6:30 and driving for at least an hour to present at a conference with my buddy Andrea by 8.  But can you do.  I remembered that I had an issue with my good camera that I wanted to use so I’ve been up playing with the dials and finally finding my way to Google for help and yes, success!  I got the info I needed to get my memory card reconnected to the camera.  So easy when you the right answer to the problem and it feels so much better than having to ask a techie at the conference or stop at the nearby photo store for help. Google has given me independence.

And now that we are into Day 2 it was fun to click over to Two Writing Teachers  and see who was already up and posted and start reading a few before I started mine.  It’s fun to be back in the zone, isn’t it?  Last night I even got to answer a few questions from some new slicers.

So in just an hour I will be showered, dressed, fed and riding in my car, playing some tunes to inspire a new digital piece for my niece’s wedding.  I’m hoping that it will keep the rehearsal dinner audience engaged and not as bored as these pieces usually leave me, by the third song, watching blurry iPhone shots.  Amanda knows what to expect from me but now it’s up to me to make good 🙂

It’s good to be driving again after my week away on the beach.  I am still connected to that experience but my real world is quickly making that vacation a distant memory.  I’m fighting but soon my color will fade. Don’t get me wrong, I do love being home and with lots of activities waiting for me.  I am looking forward to our conference presentation on the work we’ve done with teachers using the 5 image story.  In fact here’s just a taste of what we will be presenting.  Of course the group will get a chance to create stories in groups and then on their own.

I am so glad I am collaborating.  Yesterday, we were able to work together getting ready for this one and a keynote scheduled for next week.  I am so much better on a team than riding solo.  What about you?

I’ll let you know how it goes,

Have a good one,

Bonnie

Categories: Conversations with Eileen, Slice of Life 2013 | Tags: , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Up Early and Slicing into Day 2: Conversations with Eileen and SOLC2013

  1. I wasn’t really sure where you were “going” with your SOL this morning until I got to the end – and realized you were talking about the power of TEAM! We are all stronger when we are a TEAM for sure. While I find myself flying “solo” in mnay parts of my life at time point of time, I too am strongest and at my best when I am part of a team.

  2. I’m up too early on a Sat. too, but I blame a human alarm click for that one.

    Btw: When is Eileen’s Yahrtzeit? I feel like it is coming up any day now.

  3. I hope you had a great day at the conference. You are such a busy gal! Working with a partner/team is always more comforting than hanging solo, but sometimes that’s an issue if you don’t have the same outlook.

  4. Yes, much more fun and even effective to collaborate I think. Hope it all goes well, Bonnie, & the rehearsal dinner piece. How nice to do that for your niece! And also, I agree, Google helps me out a bunch!

  5. I was up at 5, wishing I woke up earlier! 😉 The early mornings are my favorite time of day. I tried not to be sad that others were up “too” early today so I didn’t get my slice written before the rest of the family was demanding and demanding and demanding.

  6. I was NOT up early–well at 5 anyway. I “slept in” until 7:30! I’m always amazed at the number of people who post so early in the day.

  7. You do so much. I guess getting up early helps to fit many things in your day.
    I love working with a partner. Especially with one who understands me and nudges me forward. Waking up in the mornings is hard for me.

  8. Good thing that you were up early with all this stuff to do. I’m intrigued about the playlist you will create for the wedding. Most of these are so shmaltzy and boring…but I have a feeling that your’s won’t be either!

  9. Hooray for March. I am not going to commit to writing, but will be back to read. Saw this today, and thought of you: http://cnnphotos.blogs.cnn.com/2013/03/02/capturing-life-with-the-last-roll/?hpt=hp_c2

  10. I love getting to catch up in March, love hearing that you’re heading out with your camera to present at a conference — words and pictures, words and pictures!

    (I was definitely not up at 5! I worked on a grant proposal straight through Thursday night, so I was very happily still asleep at 5am.)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

