In DC: Slice # 21 and Conversations with Eileen

I’m off to the Capitol!  BUt I still need to shower and get dressed.  Sorry I didn’t get to comment much yesterday but the race has begun.  A great day yesterday with my wonderful writing project educators at the U of Maryland Writing Project.  I could write so much about that experience and I will, but not at this moment.  I want to, I really do…but I have just two more minutes before I need to get moving…

See you back here if you have time later…

Many hours later:

It’s close to midnight and I am way overtired.  I’m not sure what I have left but here goes…

It was a rich day even though is was cold outside, but no rain.  I was dressed perfectly for everything but rain and I didn’t lug around my big camera so I wasn’t aching by noontime.

So the day began as usual.  The full group together for the Annual kickoff.  Smaller than past years, in a small room.  This time at the Capitol’s Visitor’s Center. A small breakfast spread but at least the NWP survives to in these crazy times.  Familiar faces were everywhere and conversations were wonderful.  Congressmen and Thad Cockrin came to support us as usual even though they had to admit that the atmosphere was hard for them to understand and where education was a rail that everyone used to be able to agree on, now even education was open season.  But the fight continued as we made our way to begin our race around the hill.  Our New York State network reps were thinner than usual and Darshna and I found ourselves heading to meet with Senator Gillibrand … that’s it for now..

Bonnie

Categories: Conversations with Eileen, HVWP, Slice of Life 2013 | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “In DC: Slice # 21 and Conversations with Eileen

  1. Have fun storming the castle!

  2. I hope you have a satisfying enriching day. I will look for your information to come.

  3. Enjoy each moment.

  4. I know you’ll make the most of it.

  5. Hope all goes well. My stepdaughter works as a web designer/instructor at the University of Maryland. She is so good with words…too bad she probably won’t be able to participate. Hope the race slows down enough for you to catch your breath. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  6. Looking forward to hearing all about this adventure, Bonnie!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

